The Nobel Laureate Festival will take place from 16-28 January 2017 and is the 24th year that Sir William Arthur Lewis and Sir Derek Alton Walcott are acknowledged, especially in Saint Lucia, for receiving the Nobel Prize – Sir Arthur for Economics in 1979 and Sir Derek for Literature in 1992. The Nobel Laureate Week Committee, recognising the growth of Nobel Laureate Week that celebrates St Lucia’s Nobel Laureates, has formally been renamed to the Nobel Laureate Festival 2017. The name change accommodates the number of celebrations that span throughout the month of January.